Merge clients and patients

Estimated reading: 4 minutes

Learn how to merge client and patient records in the event duplicate accounts occurred and both have activity, or separate accounts were maintained for a single patient and now want to be combined into a single account.  

Before you start

  • Set security access to Merge Clients/Patients dialog and report. 
  • Verify that the accounts being merged do not have their information being updated at other workstations. 
  • The Merge Clients/Patients window needs to be the only window open at the workstation performing the merge. 

Important!

  • Once completed, a merge cannot be reversed or voided. It is recommended that a backup is done first.
  • When two clients with the same patient are merged, the patient will be duplicated on the merged account. Merge the patients after the client is merge is completed.  
  • You cannot successfully merge clients or patients when the selected clients have open invoices or existing PVLs.  

How to merge clients/patients

  1. Navigate to Tools > Merge Clients/Patients  
  2. Click Yes or No on the warning message. 

Note: A merge cannot be reversed. It is recommended to create a copy of your database before you begin.

Client merge

  1. In the first Client ID field (From), enter the client ID or F2 to search and select from the Client List.  
  2. In the second Client ID field (To), enter the Client ID or F2 to search and select from the Client List. 
  3. Repeat as needed for additional clients to merge. Up to ten account merges can be performed at a time.  
  4. Click OK to merge the clients or click Cancel and No to exit the window. 
  5. Click Yes or No to the past appointment message. 
  6. Review merge results at bottom of window. The number of IDs merged and number of errors will be listed.
    • Client row(s) successfully merged will also display a checkered flag icon to left of row.
    • Unsuccessful merge row(s) will display a green flag icon. 
  7. Click Print to view or print the Merge Clients/Patients report. 
  8. Click Reset to clear the window and start another merge or click Close. 

Patient merge

  1. Under Merge Type, click the Client button to change it to patient icon. 
  2. In the first Patient ID field (From), enter Patient ID or F2 to search and select from the Patient List.  
  3. In the second Patient ID field (To), enter Patient ID or F2 to search and select from the Patient List. 
  4. Repeat as needed for additional patients to merge. Up to ten merges can be performed at a time. 
    Note: If a client has more than one patient that needs to be merged, each patient for that client needs to be merged separately.
  5. Click OK to merge the patients or click Cancel and No to exit the window. 
  6. Click Yes or No to past appointment message. 
  7. Review merge results at bottom of window. The number of IDs merged and number of errors will be listed.
    • Client row(s) successfully merged will also display a checkered flag icon to left of row.
    • Unsuccessful merge row(s) will display a green flag icon. 
  8. Click Print to view or print the Merge Clients/Patients report. 
  9. Click Reset to clear the window and start another merge or click Close. 

Additional information

Merge clients and patients

Related reports

  • Merge Clients/Patients report 
Share this Page

Merge clients and patients

Or copy link

Jump to:
Feedback