Change patient ownership

Estimated reading: 4 minutes

Patients can have one or more owners, with each owner assigned a percentage for a total of 100%. 

A patient can also ‘be transferred’ to another owner, in cases of an adoption or change in ownership. From the Patient Owner Information window, you can add or remove patient owner(s), adjust ownership percentages and indicate which owner is to receive reminders.  

Before you start

  • Security access to Patient Clipboard, Patient Information and Patient List. 
  • Setup Clients
  • Complete any pending transactions for the patient (PVLs, open invoices, pending lab requests, etc.) before changing owners. 

Important!

  • Patients with multiple owners display in each owner’s patient list. The patient’s medical information is replicated in patient history across all owners. 
  • You cannot complete an ownership transfer if the patient has pending transactions (PVL or open invoice), pending lab requests, or current/future appointments or boarding reservations.  

Change ownership

Navigate by going to any of the following:

  • Toolbar > Patient > Update 
  • Patient Clipboard > right-click patient list > Update 
  • Search Clients/Patients > right-click Patient card > Patient Information 

Add additional owners

  1. Double-click in the next available row of the Owners area or right-click in the Owners area > New  
  2. Enter the Client ID or press F2 to search and select from the Client List. 
  3. Select Send Reminders if appropriate for the additional owner.  
  4. Set ownership percentage. 
  5. Click OK to return to Patient Information.  
  6. Repeat steps for each additional owner.  
  7. Modify ownership percentages (double-click each owner) so that the total percentage of all current ownership equals 100%.  
  8. Select one of the other tabs to update additional patient information or if finished with the patient, click OK.  

Adjust ownership details

  1. Double-click each owner in the Owners area with a percentage of ownership. 
  2. Modify percentage accordingly so total of all current owners is 100% 
  3. Select or clear Send Reminders 
  4. Click OK

Change Owner

Before changing ownership, make sure that all of the clients involved are already set up and complete/remove the following for the current patient owner:  

  • Pending transactions (PVL or open invoice)  
  • Pending lab requests  
  • Current/future appointments or boarding reservations  
  1. Double-click the current owner in the Owners area. 
  2. Select Past. Ownership percentage is set to zero and Send reminders is cleared. 
  3. Modify Date of ownership if necessary. 
  4. Click OK.  
  5. Repeat steps for any additional current owners as needed. 
  6. Double-click in the next available row of the Owners area or right-click in the Owners area > New.  
  7. Enter the Client ID or press F2 to search and select a new owner from the Client List. 
  8. Select Send Reminders if appropriate for the additional owner.  
  9. Set ownership percentage. 
  10. Click OK to return to Patient Information.  
  11. Repeat steps for each additional new owner.  
  12. Double-click each owner and modify ownership percentages so that the total percentage of all current ownership equals 100%.  
  13. Select one of the other tabs to update additional patient information or if finished with the patient, click OK.  

Additional information

Post transfer details

Share this Page

Change patient ownership

Or copy link

Jump to:
Feedback